top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdmin

Spasiba Russia!

So sorry for all the inactivity lately, but the wifi in Russia is sketchy at best! But now that I'm back in E-stonia I can share all my Russian adventures!


Russia was incredible! We had to take a bus from Estonia to St. Petersburg and the drive itself wasn't too long, less than San Diego to Belmont for sure, but the border took a little while. We had to stop at three checkpoints. The first one an Estonian officer came and checked all of our passports but we got to stay on the bus. The second checkpoint we had to get off with all our luggage, go through security, and fill out Russian forms/documents listing how long we're going to be staying, why we're there, and the first name of my father. During that a Russian officer was checking the bus we were on. We got to go back on the bus after that and then a Russian officer came through and asked to see our passports one more time. A lot of hoops to jump through, but no problems.


The whole time we were in Russia we had the BEST tour guide I've ever had. Roman was the man. He knew everything about everything, answered every question we had, took us to the front of every line, taught us some Russian, told us stories about living in the Soviet era, talked politics with us, took pictures with us at every checkpoint on everyone's "gadget" and he gave us free vodka. We had these ear pieces that connected to Roman's microphone so as we passed this or that he'd give us tidbits and fun facts, so now that we're back in Estonia it feels much quieter.


Everyone said we were going to go to see a ballet in the Mariinsky Theatre, but they can't fool me. It was an opera. People were singing in Italian and not one person was on pointe or in a tutu. I don't know what happened, but the theatre was gorgeous! I kind of wished it was ballet rather than opera, but I mostly looked at the orchestra pit anyway!


The Russians, you gotta give them credit on their architecture. Everything is so decadent and detailed, from floor to ceiling it's ornate gold and dazzling designs. I could stare at these walls for hours. We visited a lot of palaces and churches (see the next post for everything about the Hermitage) and I felt so rushed because every detail deserved to be noticed. I wish I had pictures for you all of the insides of some of these Russian Orthodox cathedrals, but I didn't want to be disrespectful as people were praying, so I kept my camera away. But enjoy a full group photo in front of St. Issac's Cathedral! My professor from SDSU is the one in the back with the blue Cubs hat on.




26 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page